Location : Morena is located at 26.5°N 78.0°E.

Elevation : It has an average elevation of 177 metres (580 feet).

Major Rivers: Chambal, Kunwari, Asan, Sank

As per the local belief, there were sarai(shelter), at place like Morena, Noorabad, Chhoda, Porsa etc. on the highway during the Mughal period. The town was named after the small village of Muraina, located about 8 km. away from the present town. The nearby railway station of Shikarpur and the sarai was also later renamed after the old village. Initially it was called Pench-Morena as it had a number of cotton processing machines.

The district is located on the north-western border of the state in Chambal valley. The present Morena is combined with the Sikarwari and Tanwargarh districts of 19th century. Due to major settlement of SikarwarRajputs in Ambah area, this was known as Sikarwari. Similary due to the settlement of Tanwars(Tomars) in Joura area, the central part of the district was called Tanwargarh. The district Sikarwari, the part of former Gwalior state was later on merged into Tanwarghar in 1904 with headquarters of Joura-Alapur which is presently a tahsil headquaters. As per order No 6/10/1923 the pargana headquarters shifted from Nurabad to Morena and vide order No. 492 dated 6/10/1923 the district headquarters was also changed to Morena. In the year 1948 consequent to the formation of Madhya Bharat the Sheopur district of former Gwalior state was included in Madhya Bharat. Later it became a separate district after the reorganisation of Madhya Pradesh.As per Notification No. 1002/F/20-08-92/Sha. 8 M.P. dated 22nd May 1998, Sheopur, Karahal and Vijaypur tahsils were excluded from Morena district and a new district Sheopur was formed. Morena, Porsa, Ambah, Joura, Kailaras and Sabalgarh tahsil remained in Morena district.

During an excavation in the year 1927-28 in Kutwar village, a huge treasure chest of 18,659 bronze coins was found from which it can be firmly said that during the 3rd and 4th centuries this area was under the rule of Naga Kings. After the Nagas, Guptas, Hoons, Vardhans, Gurjaras, Pratihars, Chandellas and Kachchhapaghatas successfully ruled over this territory. Kirtiraja was the famous king of this dynasty, under whose period the temples of Sihonia were built. After the dynasty of Kachchhapaghatas clans of TomarRajputs etc. ruled over this region till 1526. After the hegemony of Mughals, during the period of the administrative reorganization of the district fell partly within the sarkars of Sheopur and Baroda Mahal, Ajmer suba of Ranthambhor Sarkar, AlapurMahal, Agra Subah of Gwalior Sarkar and Awantgarh and Vijepur Mahal Subah were under the rule of Mandal Sarkar, Remaining areas were included under Gwalior Sarkar.

From the period after invasion of the area by Akbar to last decade of 18th century, this area was part of Mughal. After the eventful battle of Panipat in 1761, Mahadji Sindhia captured Gwalior and by footing into nearby regions and the history of Morena became a part of Gwalior. Due to the services and the policy acceleration by the French commander of the Sindhias army named Jean Baptiste Fillose who trained and administered the army of Sindhia the army power of Mahadji Sindhia became more powerful. After Mahadji Sindhia, Daulat Rao Sindhia established Gwalior as Capital in 1810. In 1853 the Gwalior state was divided into different units under the able guaidance of minister Sir Dinkar Rao during the regime of Jayaji Rao Sindhiya (1843-1886). The state was divided into 3 Prants of Gwalior, Isagarh and Malwa, which were further divided into 19 districts and 62 tahsils. The area of present Morena was divided into 4 districts viz. Sabalgarh, Sheopur, Sikarwari and Tanwarghar.

During the period of the Great Revolt of 1857, Javaji Rao Sindhia decided to remain loyal to British. As and when the Sepoys of Gwalior heard about the fierce fight of the Rani Jhansi they joined the Great Revolt on the night of 14th June 1857. The revolt army reached Kalpi in November 1857 and joined the great revolt under the leadership of Tatya Tope. The situation grew worse in June 1858 when Gwalior was attacked by combined forces of Rani Laxmi Bai of Jhansi, Rao Saheb and Tatya Tope. The Maharaja and his Diwan Dinkar Rao fled to Agra when the leaders of revolt captured Gwalior. On 17th June an appalled battle between Sir Huge Rose and sepoys of the great revolt was fought under the leadership of Rani of Jhansi with combined forces of Naresh (King) of Banda. The nawab of Banda lost one of his arm and in the battle the Rani of Jhansi attained martyrdom. Sir Huge Rose offered his condolence with statement that “Rani of Jhansi was a brave and great general”. With achievement of independence of India on 15th August 1947, Gwalior state was included in Union of India and on 28th May 1948 reorganization of states it was included in an unified state of Madhya Bharat. Morena became separate district, as a result of the reorganization of states of the formation of new Madhya Pradesh on 1st Nov. 1956.